{REConstruction Chaos}

I have waited for this for weeks. 

Since Monday, workers have been in and out and fire repairs have begun. 

Monday and Tuesday the construction guy replaced all burned drywall, trims and moldings in the house and the paint crew has been working in our home since Tuesday morning. 



(There’s new drywall under the planks – I got plank happy and forgot to take a photo before I covered it up.)

Electrical in this room is going to be done on Monday.

Painting our entire home is going to be a 2.5 week (exciting) process. All ceilings, trims and walls will be repainted like a brand new home to rid the place of smoke damage. Better yet, I don’t have to do it. All I have to do is pick the colors. Although, that hasn’t really been easy…

Yes, there are paint samples EVERYWHERE.
SO.

MANY.

CHOICES.

Yesterday, I finalized my picks; making the hours spent painting all of those little patches in multiple areas of the house worth it. (I only bought 17 sample colors to pick from. Only half of the sample saturated areas are pictured. I had them in most every room.) 
My husband said that by the time I get done painting samples everywhere, all the painting would be done. Almost true. I tell ya what though, Sea Salt on the living room walls sure looked a lot different when applied in my bedroom. $4 samples are much cheaper than a whole room repaint. Buy the samples. Put them on multiple walls. It was a lot of work, but totally worth it.

On the side, I have been busy hanging shiplap and building beams for our dining room. 

Wall painting should begin Tuesday; the crew plans to work on 4th of July to get us finished faster, so that’s happy news to my ears. 

I’m excited this is all in full swing, but I’ll sure be glad when it’s over.

Leave a Reply

