|House Colors|

I have had a few questions regarding the paint colors that I currently have in my home. 

Believe it or not, we have lived in this house for almost three years, and I have repainted the entire pallet three times. Yes, that is more times than most people paint their homes interior in a lifetime. I was never quite satisfied with the outcome. I really love the current colors and am finally more than satisfied with the new palette. 

Main color: Arid Plains (Valspar)



Accent color: New Avocado (Valspar)


Green and gray are my favorite colors, especially the chartreuse (green) and charcoal or silver (gray) shades. 

The Arid Plains color is classified as a greige (gray+beige) that works well with my love of chartreuse. My furniture is charcoal in color and my accents are gray shades, both light and dark, cream and of course, chartreuse.  These colors look fantastic together. I will definitely be using the same combination in our next home.

(P.S. A little trick of the trade: I buy contractor paint. It’s less than $20 a gallon and works just as good as all that fancy $40+ a gallon paint – a waste of money.) 

Here’s what I use, specifically:

I always use Eggshell finish. This paint is nice and thick so the coverage is great. I use two coats. In very high traffic areas, I roll three coats for durability. At such a cheap price per gallon, it’s more coverage for the money.

And, don’t forget to use the best brush on the market for those cut in jobs; Wooster shortcut (my opinion, no compensation):


I get mine at Home Depot. 

My paint comes from Lowes, where they have a similar brush by Blue Hawk, but I won’t buy them anymore as they lose bristles constantly during paint jobs. I’d rather make an extra stop and have the job done right.

What colors did you fall in love with for your home?

2 thoughts on “|House Colors|

  1. Our house was painted navy blue, baby blue, royal blue, burgundy, red, yellow, and mustard when we bought it. We’ve been painting pretty much since then and have settled on light greys, light blues, and almost white purples. I like the way they make the white trim look super white by comparison.

    Like

Leave a Reply

