Storage Wars!

Our 4 bedroom home offered this coat closet:  

Now, to me, a 4 bedroom home means that at LEAST 4 people are going to live in the home, so we will need to fit an average of 15 pairs of shoes and 12 jackets/coats (not counting the room needed to stash the belongings of visiting guests). In other words, this builder failed. This size coat closet belongs in an efficiency apartment. Obviously, we need more storage. So, though I was not thrilled, using the space on the adjoining exterior wall was my only option.

   
The idea was to build something to hold coats, shoes and other necessary accessories; scarves, hat, gloves.

I decided on a simple design with minimal materials.

1×6 board

1×4 board

Precut wood slats from Home Depot

Wood filler

Paint

Brad nailer 

1.5 inch screws

Coat hooks

Wire baskets

I cut a 1×6 board according to my wall measurement and attached the board to the wall studs. This board will hold my coat hooks. There was no rhyme nor reason at what height I placed this, it was more of a “what height would work best for the kids” and up it went. 52″ from the floor to the bottom of the 1×6 is what the measurement ended up being. 
My wire baskets measure 14″ high so I left a 16″ gap between the 1×6 and top 1×4 board that the baskets will hang from. The 1×4, once cut to size, was also attached to studs.

The precut slats I hung starting at the end opposite of the existing closet where the walls come together. Once installed the full length of the rack, I measure the area between, divided it in half and that is where I racked up another length of slats. I repeated this method on each side of the middle slats to place two more lined sets of slats.

  
I used wood filler to cover the screws, and the seams between the precut slats. I then painted the wood and the wall between with the same color of paint that was used on the trim. Luckily, there was plenty left in the can that was left in the basement when we moved it.

Next, I installed the coat hooks using a measuring method similar to the slat install method. I install both end hooks, then the middle and work my way out. It’s easier to me doing it that way.

The basket hooks were hung by simply dividing the top board into 3 and tacking a hook on each mark.

  
The 4 compartment unit that I am using for shoes is from the Better Homes and Garden collection at Walmart. I inserted black fabric bins for the kids to hold their shoes in. Each kid has two coat hooks; one for coat, 1 for book bag; and each kid has their own basket and shoe box (my teenage daughter has 2 shoe boxes).

I have since painted the wall, so here is what the result looks like currently:

  We love it. It certainly makes more sense than what we were given!

What builder “boo boo” was your home designed with?

Thanks for reading! 

Happy FRIDAY!!! Woohoo!!

4 thoughts on “Storage Wars!

  1. We just got the keys to our new house and there are quite a few boo boos. The entry is very narrow and the closet doesn’t happen until the end of the hallway. Also there is an awesome sized closet in the basement that has pipes running right through the middle. It could’ve been a nice small office without them.

    Like

    • You’ll have to share a picture of the closet with pipes with me, I can’t even picture that! That’s too bad. Is there room in your narrow hallway to place coat hooks at least?Maybe you could post a pic of the entry and seek ideas from your readers. I would definitely try to help you find a solution(s).

      Like

      • I will get around to posting pictures. I currently only have the ones from the mls listing. And the previous owners things completely packed the house and everything was gross. So right now we are cleaning and cleaning and patching holes and cleaning. But I definitely will post pictures when that is finished.

        Like

Leave a Reply

