What’s Hangin’?

There is nothing worse than hanging an object on the wall and then having to relocate it for one reason or another. Nail holes are bad enough but man, those anchor holes (trenches?) are the worst.

I am really good at most anything DIY, I can transform wood scraps into beautiful furniture, I can paint a straight line like nobody’s business, lay flooring, slap up a backsplash –  blah, blah, blah, but when it comes to patching a “little” freakin’ hole, I’m as worthless as a white crayon on white paper (I had “better” ones, but didn’t want to offend anyone). I’m not talking tiny nail hole, either. Most times, a fresh coat of paint will take care of those minuscule rascals, or a small glob of plaster on the finger tip will do the trick on the bit bigger ones; but no, I’m referring specifically to those craters that have protruding drywall post removal (thanks to screws and anchors) that really do me in. The process is always the same – tap in protruding drywall, fill damage with plaster, let dry, sand (feels nice and flat), then paint. But, the moment I add paint, **BOOM** the patch sticks out like a sore thumb. (Guess it wasn’t so nice and flat after all.)

So no, this is not a post about how I perfected the gorging hole technique so that I can share my expertise with you, if that is what you are thinking. Why?

BECAUSE I STILL HAVEN’T. I suck at it. I accept defeat.

What this post IS about, though, is how I have come to avoid the holes (or most of them) altogether.

My family really likes it when I visit because they get free decorating services, so they (excitedly) have it all ready for me when I arrive.

Enter sister-in-law (girl is a genius). SIL had a bunch of stuff for me to hang last visit since she didn’t know where to place things. Of course, I gave her a list of things I would need to complete my work and she got to work gathering. She brought me a few nails (but clearly not enough) and a whole bunch of these velcro 3M sticky things (what the heck was I going to do with those worthless things? They certainly weren’t going to hold much of anything)! I was very skeptical but she assured me that those strips were what she wanted the majority of her items (some were heavy!) hung with…

Her house, her stuff, her call. Go with it…

Really, this is a love story. Yep, I fell in love with these fancy, durable, quick and easy sticky velcro strips. They look a little something like this:

hanging

538687181_330

The Command strips came in different sizes too so the small jobs can be done with the smaller strips and bigger jobs with bigger strips! (Again, I get ZERO compensation from any companies – just my opinions and experiences here. Though, I would love free Command strips, I am out. Hint.) I have yet to find anything I cannot hang with these little lovelies. See, the sets that hold 16 pounds a pair will actually hold heavier weights if you use more strip sets! And, it is much easier than measuring, leveling, hammering, etc. just to hang. I simply add a strip (or two, or four) to my item, and sandwich the wall strip to it (you can actually hear the velcro clicking together!) and remove the paper to expose the sticky tape that attaches to the wall. Then I place my small hand held level on top of my item and when bubble shows level, I press it directly to the wall! Done! I’m telling you, these little puppies are AMAZING.

Here are a few things I have created in the last week thanks to these handy dandy life changers.

GALLERY WALL

12278979_10153223535066200_5991943794756564636_n

PLATE WALL (yes, plates!)

12316379_10153244760451200_568174679221744151_n

MONOGRAM (heavy) & WOODEN INITIAL LETTERS

12345560_10153244760461200_7211513084764493569_n

My life has been forever changed. NO MORE HOLES! Well, lots less anyway.

Thanks sister!

What tips/tricks have changed your life forever? I am always looking for more.

Leave a Reply

