~DIY [canvas tote] Throw Pillow~

I am a thrifter. I LOVE finding a good deal on neat, preloved stuff. I found a fantastic wingback chair that originally, someone paid a lot of money for. It needed a good cleaning and a pillow. Cleaning done. Now, pillow.

I searched far and wide for a pillow that I liked to stay on my treasure year round but the selection right now is scarce second hand, and mostly Christmas items brand new sporting price tags of $20+. Not happening. So, after leaving store after store yesterday, I headed home.

Pillowless.

This morning I was hustling my kids out the door for school and laid eyes on my cream colored canvas bag with “hello” painted on it and wondered what I was going to do with it. I love it and knew if it hung on the coat hanger long enough, I would have some grand inspiration on how to put it to good use in my home. I received it as a gift bag carrying neat little treasures from one of my daycare kids for Thanksgiving.

I gawked at it for a couple of minutes and thought, “What am I going to do with this canvas-y pillow material bag?” Suddenly, it HIT me. PILLOW!! Oh, the excitement! And, the perfect ugly pillow came to mind (I had just taken it to the basement yesterday – pre-fabulous chair purchasing)!

So, here is what I used:

Canvas tote, ugly pillow similar in size to tote, thread (matches canvas), needle, and scissors (I had everything on hand. SCORE.)

d65f8d37-9346-42f2-9f8c-0cfdbfafd17e

So, here is what I did:

1.) Stuff pillow into tote.

7c5f4f24-dc6f-4e1e-bd19-75d97cbec10d.jpg

2.) Pinch the opening together keeping tote handles aligned (left pic) then whip stitch with raw edges turned in (right pic). **You could use hot glue instead of stitching, but the durability isn’t there like it is with thread. And, I hate redoing a project because I took a shortcut in the first place. But, if hot glue is what you have on hand and you are in a pinch, go with it.

Note: I left about 1 inch on each end unstitched. I started in the center and stitched toward the outside and ran out of thread. I liked the look, so I went with it. Then with a new piece of thread, I started in the middle again and stitched toward the other side just short of 1 inch.

07c52b59-0108-41df-84ee-a5a1da61535a

3.) Cut tote straps on center. (I cut mine at a bit of an angle like the ends of a fancy bow.)

d7b0e63e-a7ff-4fd4-b317-37baacbc1e69

4.) Tie straps into bows.

(How I did it: Make straps into rabbit ears and cross, then go around the tree and into the burrow. Pull tight.) 🙂

cd877870-01de-4f6d-aab2-fd8a5637b864

5.) Arrange bows as you would like. (I tied both and decided I liked mine covering the stitching best rather than sitting crossways over it.)

0073a137-899f-4646-a35c-937eb96cdefc

DONE!! Now, ready to display on my “new” old (clean) chair!

7f834151-9140-4d42-806d-05a619ade067 - Copy

TA-DAH!!!

Don’t you just LOVE it?! I know I do! What did you work on today?

Leave a Reply

